• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Want to organize your cloud files? Sign up for a free webinar to see how Dokkio (a new product from PBworks) can help you find, organize, and collaborate on your Drive, Gmail, Dropbox, and Slack files: Weds, May 27 at 2PM Eastern / 11AM Pacific
View
 

WiCampKolkata

Page history last edited by Pavan Soni 11 years ago

 

The event is over with 110 campers joinin in. Here's the event summary. Do keep in touch with pavan.soni@wipro.com for upcoming WiCamps

 

WiCamp

(pronounced as we-camp)

 

 

 

Theme: Cultural Dimensions of Innovation

 

Date: Friday, July 18, 2008

 

Time: 2 PM till 7 PM

 

Venue: Wipro Technologies, Shantiniketan, 2nd floor, Learning Centre, Block DM, Sector – V, Saltlake, Kolkata - 700091

 

 

Sponsor

 

The event it was!

Perhaps the only community missing out in our WiCamps was ‘Politicians’. And what better a place than the ‘City of Joy’ to have them here. And who better than the ‘IT Minister of State’ to be a camper at this 6th episode of Wipro’s Innovation Camp. Over 110 campers joined in from various hues and shades of this great city and near around places. They came in from institutions including: XLRI Jamshedpur, OldMonkStuff, Convonix, IIIT Kolkata, KIIT Bhubaneswar, Institute of Engineering & Management Kolkata, IIM Calcutta, Heritage Institute of Technology Kolkata, State Government of Kolkata, The Economic Times, One Laptop Per Child, Alvari Systems, IIFT Kolkata, Indian Statistical Institute Kolkata, Seahorse Ship Agencies, APT Software, Jadavpur University, Acclaris Business Solutions, Indus Towers, L2C2 Technologies, AneaMedia, ITME Kolkata and Wipro Limited. As you can see, there are increasing number of startups and students participating, and the sentiments are wide and clear that there is more than enthusiasm that one could learn from them. So here’s a quick take on the Kolkata WiCamp.


Having widely realized that innovation is a peoples’ game, the theme chosen for the Kolkata WiCamp was “Cultural Dimension of Innovation”. The IT Minister of State set the context apt for culture when he vouched that “anyone can innovate” provided that s/he has free time and be sufficiently motivate/ challenged. With a belief that innovation can be toughed, the much excited and humble minister narrated his experiments with creativity as a faculty (earlier) and in politics (currently). As debates broke, few arguments appeared … innovation calls for a spirit of enquiry, freedom and an out-of-box thinking… formal education doesn’t really kill creativity but teachers have the onus to inspire risk taking attitude and challenge youth.

 

The gears changed quickly when a few bright startups did some story telling on their endeavors. The essential ingredients of innovations were: a challenge/ cause/ desperation or at times insult; a personal pursuit characterized by courage, faith and discipline; a business model which is ingenious; and an ecosystem which is agile and rich.

 

The first brainstorming session broke on arriving at the RoI of Innovation, or simple the RoI (Return on Innovation). The streaming views read as ROI is in measuring… the value added to society as well an individual/ team; the resulting sustainable development; personal satisfaction; that small change which is felt; the impact on brand (internal and external); the ∆ (additionally); and of course money. But it was a common sentiment that RoI must include both tangible and intangible measures and the discipline of measurement is the hallmark of a great innovator.

 

Post a high tea break (one without tea) the campers joined in with lot more enthusiasm (atleast I felt so)! The topic now for the brainstorming was “Innovation Culture in a Globally Connected Services Economy” (quite a mouthful). Essentially it to debate on how services firms operating in a global supply chain could hone an innovation culture. It all started with deciphering the difficult term ‘culture’. Hints came as: set of beliefs, behavior patterns, policy, an approach and common aspirations. In context to an innovative culture, the manifestation would be in terms of: allowance of make mistakes, having proper measures in place, agility, a suitable managing style (+ buy-in), drive from leadership, ability to create an innovative brand for customers as well employees. What is increasingly important is to make employees aware of the context in which they innovate, as not all what employees do is visible (or valuable) for the customer.

 

In all, the Kolkata WiCamp was characterized by a lot of enthusiasm, eagerness to (un)learn and a sincere approach towards socializing. Am sure that we would have even more campers joining in even more bizarre WiCamps of future.

To learn more and contribute to this bandwagon, please visit WiCamp.

 


 

 

 

About WiCamp

 

WiCamp which stands for Wipro’s Innovation Camp is inspired by the silicon-valley styled BarCamps which are un-conference like meetings. Here like minded people come over and share their learning on a topic of mutual interest through presentation, demos, videos, etc.

 

Who can attend the WiCamp

Students across ages! We all are students wearing different masks, working in organizations run by us or otherwise. To be more specific; invitation goes to Start-ups, Large Firms, VCs, Students, Researchers and by no means limited to the IT industry. The more diverse the more creative!

 

What would be the takeaway for me

Knowing people and their perspectives on Innovation and Creativity. You would also be encouraged to share your thoughts on the subject and expand your knowledge horizon.

 

Themes for the WiCampKolkata

 

  • The people dimensions of innovation
  • Practices of motivating people
  • Instigating the creative spirit among people

 

 

Campers

1 Pavan Soni pavan.soni@wipro.com http://pavansoni.blogspot.com/ Wipro Technologies
2 Tathagata Dasgupta tathagata.dasgupta@wipro.com http://tathagatadg.blogspot.com/ Wipro Technologies
3 Jaydeep Chakraborty jaydeep.chakraborty1@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
4 Abhishek Choudhary abhishek.chaudhury@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
5 Debasish Chanda debasish.chanda@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
6 Kaushik Banerjee kaushik.banerjee@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
7 Sudipta Ghosh sudipta.sghosh@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
8 Tanmoy Sil tanmoy.sil@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
9 Soumik Ghosh soumik.ghosh@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
10 Subhendu Banerjee subhendu.banerjee@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
11 Siddharth Shah siddharth@parichay.co.in   XLRI, Jamshedpur
12 Sushil K Agarwal sushil.kumaragarwal@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
13 Amitansu Mahapatra amitansu.mahapatra@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
14 Arijit Ghose arijit.ghose@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
15 Prabhu Ram Krishnamurthy prabhu.krishnamurthy@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
16 Saujatya Guin saujatya.guin@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
17 Mohua Sarkar mohua.sarkar@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
18 Shantanu Sikdar shan@oldmonkstuff.com www.OldMonkStuff.com Oldmonkstuff
19 Rohit Tayal rohitmanit07@gmail.com   XLRI, Jamshedpur
20 Sudipto Dey sudipto.tn@gmail.com   XLRI, Jamshedpur
21 Ram N K ram@rangde.org http://www.RangDe.Org RangDe.Org
22 Mitesh Ashar email at miteshashar dot com http://www.miteshashar.com  Convonix
23 Vivek Karmakar vivekananda.karmakar@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
24 Gourav Kumar Dugar gouravdugar@gmail.com   Amity University
25 Ankit Kanodia ankitkanodia04@yahoo.co.in   IIIT, Kolkata
26 Neeraj Khandelwal gdugar@rediffmail.com   Torry Harris
27 Pramit Mitra pramit.mitra@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
28 Prof M.K Sanyal hodhrm@becs.ac.in   BE Shibpur
29 Prof B.N Datta hodhrm@becs.ac.in   BE Shibpur
30 Prof. D P Mandal dpmandal@isical.ac.in   ISI Kolkata
31 Prof. Pinakpani Pal pinak@isical.ac.in   ISI Kolkata
32 Prof. Animesh Tripathy animesh_tripathy@kiit.ac.in   KIIT
33 Prof. H.Pal Thethi harpal_nitr@rediffmail.com   KIIT
34 Gaurav Srivastava -   KIIT
35 Summet Kumar -   KIIT
36 Prof. Abhishek Bhattacharya abhishek_bhattacharya78@rediffmail.com   IEM
37 Prof.Arindam Chakraborty -   IEM
38 Agniva Dey -   IEM
39 Sayanta Ghatak -   IEM
40 Prof Siddhartha Bhattacharya sbsidh12@gmail.com   Jadavpur University
41 Amrut Ranjan Jena -   Jadavpur University
42 Madusmita Mishra -   Jadavpur University
43 Prof Anindya J. Pal -   Heritage Institute
44 Prof Nirmalya Prasun Nayak -   Heritage Institute
45 Dayita Das -   Heritage Institute
46 Rinita Modak -   Heritage Institute
47 Jyoti Prasad jyoti.prasad@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
48 Rakesh Ranjan rakesh.ranjan1@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
49 Neha Tiwary neha.tiwary@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
50 Nishith Verma nishith.verma@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
51 Rupesh Papneja rupesh.papneja@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
52 Anuj Jain anuj.jain@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
53 Joyeta Choudhury joyeta.choudhury@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
54 Dipanjan Biswas dipanjan.biswas@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
55 Arjun Bhattacharya arjun.bhattacharya@wipro.com   Wipro Infotech
56 Kingshuk Mazumdar kingshuk.mazumdar@wipro.com   Wipro Infotech
57 Deep Bhowmick deep.bhowmick@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
58 Barnali Acharya barnali.acharya@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
59 Debojyoti Dutta debojyoti.dutta@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
60 Soumyabrata Das soumyabrata.das@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
61 Gourav Agrawal gourav.agrawal@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
62 Anurag Kumar anurag.kumar1@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
63 Apoorva Kumar apoorva.kum@gmail.com   IIM Calcutta
64 Ankit Kumar Sawai sawaiak@gmail.com   IIM Calcutta
65 Ankit Gupta guptaankit.iitr@gmail.com   IIM Calcutta
66 Atul Bhargava atul.bhargava.1984@gmail.com   IIM Calcutta
67 Dushyant Daatatrey dattatraygkv@gmail.com   IIM Calcutta
68 Yalla Jagadish yalla.jagadish@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
69 Sulagna Bhattacharya sulagna.bhattacharya@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies/IIM Calcutta
70 Vidyanand Jha vjha@iimcal.ac.in   IIM Calcutta
71 Sayamindu Dasgupta sayamindu@gmail.com http://sayamindu.randomink.org/ramblings One Laptop Per Child
72 Indranil Das Gupta indradg@l2c2.co.in http://indradg.randomink.org/blog L2C2 Technologies
73 Saikat Kar     Alvari Systems
74 Subhro Bandopadhyay     Alvari Systems
75 Rajyasree Gupta     Acclaris
76 Dibyendu Basu     Acclaris
77 Ratna Sengupta ratna@aptsoftware.com   APT Software Avenues Pvt. Ltd.
78 Ravi Ranjan ranjan354 at gmail.com Animation Courses Animation in India
79 Satsheel satsheel@gmail.com   IIM Calcutta student
80 Avik Guha Thakurta avikguha96@gmail.com   Engineer in Business
81 Myshkin Ingawale myshkin@anaemedia.org http://www.anaemedia.org AnaeMedia and IIM Calcutta
82 Atul Kumar Lal atul.indus@indiatimes.com   IndusTowers Pvt. Ltd
83 Somnath Mukherjee somnath.mukherjee@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
84 Sita Prasad sita.prasad@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
85 Vikesh Mehta vikesh.mehta@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
87 Rahul Gandhi Burra rahulg_kd09@iift.ac.in   IIFT Kolkata
88 Banchit Yadav banchit_kd09@iift.ac.in   IIFT Kolkata
89 Manjir Sen -   ITME College
90 Soumyamoy Acharya Choudhuri -   ITME College
91 Prof Rajib Biswas -   ITME College
92 Prof Raunajeet Sarkar -   ITME College
93 Amit Bhattacharjee amit.bhattacharjee1@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
94 Himadri Sekhar Das himadrid@aptsoftware.com   APT Software Avenues Pvt. Ltd.
95 Ratul Kislaya ratul.kislaya@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
96 Robin Goyal robin_kd09@iift.ac.in   IIFT, Kolkata Campus

 

 

 

Discussions

 

  • Add your name and title of discussion here.
1 Innovation Starts with I Pavan Soni pavan.soni@wipro.com http://pavansoni.blogspot.com/ Wipro Technologies
2 Framework to Evaluate Innovation Program Debasish Chanda debasish.chanda@wipro.com   Wipro Technologies
3 Making low cost microcredit a reality! Ram N K ram@rangde.org www.RangDe.Org RangDe.Org

 

 

Who is blogging

http://pavansoni.blogspot.com

http://tathagatadg.blogspot.com/

http://tomstricks.blogspot.com/

http://blog4u.blogspot.com/

http://blog.miteshashar.com/i-will-be-attending-wicampkolkata/

http://ir0cker.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

S No. Name                    Mail ID Institute/   company                            Blog/ Website
1 Pavan Soni pavan.soni@wipro.com Wipro Technologies http://pavansoni.blogspot.com
Sanjay Kumar Lakra   SNS JOBS  
Aviral Gupta   Wipro Technologies  
Anas K A   IISc Bangalore Twitter Blog
Anees K A   Procsys Bangalore Tweet
Trilok H G,   StockzGateway  
Padma S   Satyam  
Sundar sundaram.ramanathan@wipro.com  Wipro  
Sreedhar Ambati   Proteans ambatisreedhar.wordpress.com
10  Sachin Garg   NavankurIT  
11  Geo Paul   IISc Bangalore  
12  Vishnu V Kuna   Intel India  
13  Pranay Prabhugaunker   Global IP services  
14  Muda Rajesh Babu,   IISc Bangalroe http://www.rajeshsoftengi.co.cc/
15  Ragini Sharma   iGATE  
16  Rohit Sharma   Torry Harris Business Solutions   
17  Sanatya Singh   Torry Harris Business Solutions  
18  Aditya Nagpal   BITS PILANI  
19 Vikesh Mehta  vikesh.mehta@wipro.com  Wipro Technologies   
20 Ashim Ghosh ashim.ghosh@wipro.com Wipro Technologies   
21 Raghu raghuraman.kal@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
22 Brij Seth brij.sethi@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
23 Ranjit ranjit.viswanathan@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
24 Ravi Meghani ravi.meghani@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
  M.Krishna Sekhar krishnasm@paxterrasolutions.com Paxterra Software Solutions www.paxterrasolutions.com; http://krishnasekhar.synthasite.com
  N.V.Lakshmi kumari  kumari.nvlakshmi@gmail.com ISBR  
  Aiswarya.K aiswarya.krishna@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
  RenukaPrasad prasadtg@gmail.com SJCE / CDAC  
  Bharath Kumar .B bharath.b@thresholdsoft.com Threshold Software Solutions Pvt Ltd http://www.thresholdsoft.com
  Richa Agarwal    agarwaricha@gmail.com ISB&M     
  Sanjay Chitnis sanjay.chitnis@gmail.com Prayukti Solutions  
  Srinivasu Chakravarthula vasugroupmails@yahoo.co.in Yahoo! http://www.srinivasu.org
  Shirish Singh   HP  
  Abhilash KR abhilashkrishnamurthy@gmail.com Bangalore Institute of Technology www.abhilashkr.blogspot.com
  Mithun Ashok mithun_ashok@hotmail.com Yahoo!  
  Anitha Chandrashekar anitha.chandrashekar@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
  Raghavendra K.M raghavendra.mukund@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
  Nitin Unni nitin.unni@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
  Tukun Chakraborty tukun.chakraborty@wipro.com Wipro Technologies  
  Nilakshi Das Nilakshi Das NextGen PMS Pvt. Ltd  
  Asha Hegde asha328@gmail.com    
  Narasimha Prabhu M mnprabhu@gmail.com    
  Jilani MKHH jilani.mkhh@gmail.com