• Earn a $50 Amazon gift card for testing a new product from the makers of PBworks. Click here to apply.

  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

View
 

DemoCampCalgary6

Page history last edited by baron53 11 years, 7 months ago

 

Date Tuesday Feb 12th, 2008
Time6:30pm to 8:30pm
Location Critical Mass - 402 - 11 Ave SE - details here
Expected AttendanceAll are welcome! & It is free to attend.

Check DemoCampCalgary for future DemoCamp dates!

 

Facebook Group

Message Patrick Lor to join the DemoCampCalgary Facebook Group for more news and updates!


 

There are only two rules for presenters:

  • Rule #1: No powerpoint or sideshow allowed. Why no .ppt? Well, do you have working software or don't you?
  • Rule #2: Demos are not a second over 10 minutes each. Short and sweet! And follow with Q&A for about 3-4 minutes max.

 

New Ideas For DemoCamp

We've been gathering community feedback over the last few months, and here are some of your comments:

  • Hold the DemoCamps in a more casual environment.
  • Can we show powerpoint presentations?
  • Can we have a roundtable discussion on interesting topics?
  • Can we have proper introductions instead of announcing our favourite cheese?

 

Great comments, keep them coming. For this DemoCamp, we're checking into a new venue and will let you know once it is confirmed (if you have suggestions, let us know). Also, we're always interested in how we can make DemoCamp more interesting and engaging for audiences. Toronto seems to be enjoying some success with Ignite presentations - short, 5 minute slideshows consisting of 20 slides @ 15 seconds per slide. Slides are set to advance automatically, to keep the presenters on track. (find out more here: http://igniteseattle.com/ ). Anyone here interested in making an Ignite presentation?

 

 

And, yes, we can have proper intros instead of announcing our favourite cheese. Killjoy.


Demo Schedule (4 Demos per Camp)

 

 

 

Name email address website
James Hildebrandt James.H@PsykoAudio.com http://www.psykoaudio.com
Kory Arsenault kory.arsenault@eSchedule.ca http://www.eSchedule.ca
Roger Morrison rmorrison@dtechs.ca http://www.dtechs.ca
Derek Ball derek at tynt dot com http://www.tynt.com
Tony Randell tony@tgrsolutions.ca http://www.tgrsolutions.ca

 

Ignite Schedule

Ignite presentations are short, 5 minute slideshows consisting of 20 slides @ 15 seconds per slide. Slides are set to advance automatically, to keep the presenters on track. (find out more here: http://igniteseattle.com/ ). And yes, we are allowing PowerPoint for this part of the evening!

Name email address website topic
Patrick Lor pat@lor.vc http://www.lor.vc iStockphoto Success Factors
Lino Ramirez ramirez@aranducorp.com http://www.aranducorp.com/blog Predictive Analytics: Your Competitive Advantage


Volunteers

 

Sign up to be a volunteer and let us know how you're going to help!

 

Name Email Web
Sarah Blue sarah@cambrianhouse.com http://www.cambrianhouse.com/
Patrick Lor pat-at-lor-dot-vc http://www.lor.vc
David Gluzman david@r4nt.com http://www.r4nt.com
John Bristowe john.bristowe@microsoft.com http://blogs.msdn.com/cdndevs/
Philip Uglow philip.uglow@biztrekkers.ca http://www.biztrekkers.ca
Kelly Graves kgraves@calgarytechnologies.com http://www.calgarytechnologies.com
Lino Ramirez ramirez@aranducorp.com http://www.aranducorp.com/blog


Attendees List

 

 

Name Email Web
Kempton Lam kempton@ideasRevolution.comhttp://kempton.ideasRevolution.com
Sarah Blue sarah@cambrianhouse.comhttp://www.cambrianhouse.com/
Patrick Lor pat-at-lor-dot-vc http://www.lor.vc
David Gluzman david@r4nt.com http://www.r4nt.com
John Bristowe john.bristowe@microsoft.com http://blogs.msdn.com/cdndevs/
Philip Uglow philip.uglow@biztrekkers.ca http://www.biztrekkers.ca
Patrick Jeromeupcomingmanager@gmail.comhttp://sjoptimum.com/
Andrew Johngreenfur@gmail.comhttp://www.ppm.com.tw/
Lino Ramirez ramirez@aranducorp.com http://www.aranducorp.com/blog
Kory Arsenault kory.arsenault@eschedule.ca http://www.eschedule.ca
Mack Male mack@paramagnus.com http://blog.mastermaq.ca
Mike Soron msoron@gmail.com http://www.mikesoron.com
Kelly Cherniwchan cherniwchan@uti.ca http://www.uti.ca
David Robert david@communitycloth.com http://www.communitycloth.com
Kym Kinlin website@adrac.co.uk http://www.adrac.co.uk
Tyler Soron tylersoron@gmail.com http://www.clickspace.com
Hasan Murtaza hasan_murtaza@hotmail.com
Nicola Burdeniuk nicola@criticalpathgroup.com http://www.banffventureforum.com
Shekar Kadaba shekar.kadaba @ whistlerfriday.com http://www.whistlerfriday.com
Christian Idicula christian-at-idicula-dot-ca http://www.idicula.ca
Jeff Nelson jeff.nelson@anduro.com http://www.anduro.com
Jonathan Cheung jmzcheung@gmail.com
Daniel Hsu daniel.hsu@maclaren.com
James Hildebrandt James.H@PsykoAudio.com http://www.psykoaudio.com
Crystal Larm larm.crystal@ic.gc.ca
Kelly Shaw kellys@criticalmass.com www.criticalmass.com
Kaya Konopnicki kayak@sciencealberta.org www.sciencealberta.org
Mike Scullen mike.scullen@calgaryartsdevelopment.com http://www.calgaryartsdevelopment.com
Rob August rob.august@calgarysun.com http://www.calgarysun.com
Colin Sproule colinsproule@gmail.com http://www.internetjogging.com


 

Those who couldn't make it

 

Tamer Salama tamerhelmysalama@gmail.com http://tamersalama.com