• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Want to organize your cloud files? Sign up for a free webinar to see how Dokkio (a new product from PBworks) can help you find, organize, and collaborate on your Drive, Gmail, Dropbox, and Slack files: Weds, May 27 at 2PM Eastern / 11AM Pacific
View
 

BarCampTX

Page history last edited by Christopher St. John 11 years, 11 months ago

Page locked due to spamming, contact an admin if you need to edit

 

 

A BarCamp is an ad-hoc gathering born from the desire for people to share and learn in an open environment. It is an intense event with discussions, demos, and interaction from attendees.

 

Event details

 

Please use tag: barcamptx

 

Planning for BarCampTX has begun. Sign up now to be part of the fun ;)

 

DateJanuary 26th, 27th
TimeMeet and Greet at 10AM till Noon - Sessions start at 1PM
Location219 N. Main, Bryan, TX 77803 map
CostAlways free! Sign up below.
FormatPresentations, development projects, and demos
Twitterhttp://twitter.com/barcamptx
Upcominghttp://upcoming.yahoo.com/event/303426/
Estimated Attendance200
Where to stay?LaSalle Hotel - http://www.lasalle-hotel.com/ - call for discount rate
Web Sitehttp://barcamptexas.com/

 

Sponsors

No one has committed to any levels, so right now this is just a list of who is going to sponsor at *some* level. Please contact our sponsorship coordinator for more info (email coming soon...)

 

 

 

Levels

  • Platinum Level Sponsors - $1000 minimum donation
  • Gold Level Sponsors - $500 minimum donation
  • Silver Level Sponsors - $250 minimum donation
  • Individual Sponsors - $100

 

Schedule

 

Day 1

 

  • Lunch

 

  • Afternoon

 

  • Dinner

 

  • Evening/Party

 

Day 2

 

  • etc.

 

Proposed Sessions

 

  • User Centered Design/Development
  • Rich Internet Applications (RIAs); pros and cons of using; technologies: XHR, Flex/Flash, etc.
  • "Design is ____" (v2) a presentation on the definition of design, its importance, and how to use it to its fullest potential - Roby Fitzhenry w/ Always Creative
  • 'Tips on communicating with customers for designers and web developers' - Brad Dressler w/ bcd design
  • MarkupNinja 's Take on CSS Frameworks, and how we'll turn the industry on its ear with ours.

 

  • The relative unimportance of design (but we love designers) - ;) Michael Mcginnis
  • Optimal lawn mowing paths w/code! - Jeremy Kelley
  • Meta-resources: Whats next for RESTful web services? - Ben Burkert
  • Software testing practices - Ben Burkert
  • Something, not sure yet. Maybe something creative like a reading - Johnny Citizen
  • Memorial Service for the term 'Web 2.0': let's put the term 'Web 2.0' to rest, have it live on in the term "Web", and keep cranking out cool new sites with better interfaces, user contribution, and open APIs.
  • "MVC and PHP" or "Hey, those Rails kids had a great idea!" - Daniel Cousineau & Chris Weldon
    • ...or any other PHP or Server-Side design topics, I would prefer to have a nice session on MVC even though most people (everybody except for Rails coders, and even some Rails coders) don't know the MVC design pattern at all.
  • PEAR has done the work for you: Quick Forms is my hero - Daniel Cousineau
    • While I would pick the above presentation over this one, a good 15-30 minute presentation on the wonders of Quick Forms (PHP only, however anyone else can get ideas and write their own libraries for Rails, etc.) and how much it speeds up dev time.
  • LINQ - More robust code. Quicker development time. Smaller code base. - Chris Weldon & Ben Floyd
  • Financing your startup 101 - Josh Tabin
  • Any tech startup related issues (equity, financing, business model, etc.) - James Lancaster
  • Managing the "Omni-Me" - James Lancaster
  • Mobile journalist (MoJo) setup using (mostly) open source tools with podcast-type tips from a former radio anchor - Jonny Dover
  • Code, values and culture: A discussion of what's important and what it means for the Web's architectural path. - Ethan Moore
  • seven months around the world surfing my social network - noneck aka luckofseven.com
  • Securing your web sites and web apps - Andrew Ellis
  • Introduction to Expression Blend and Silverlight - Hilary Pike

 

 

Topics I would like to hear about

 

  • Community building
  • Anything about Leadership
  • Anything about creativity
  • New Media and Marketing
  • AIR (Adobe Integrated Runtime), and what it does
  • The State of SVG
    • I could talk about this, I did some research into it a while back but it'll just be depressing. The actual specification isn't done yet (pure specification last time I checked is just barely to the point where all of Illustrator's features from the .ai format can be replicated), and browser implementation is horrific (Firefox being the best of show). -- Daniel (dcousineau@gmail.com)
  • Drupal themeing
  • anything Django-related
  • anything Adobe Flex related
  • Social Marketing
  • Podcasting techniques & tools
  • iTunesU (educational podcasting)
  • Volunteering webwork for non-profit organizations
  • jQuery
  • Django & Python
  • Utils, one-offs and other toolbox stuff: what's in your software toolbox?
  • Regex: The uber tool.
  • CMS or See A Mess? Struggles in managing content and its development

 

Planners

 

 

Volunteers

 

 

Participants (aka Campers)

  1. Cody Marx Bailey - superphly@gmail.com
  2. Aaron Farnham - afarnham@gmail.com
  3. Ben Mangan - bennaustin@gmail.com (driving from Austin)
  4. Jeremy Kelley - nodsworth@gmail.com (i'll drive from Austin)
  5. Merlin - tomerlin at gmail (i'll drive from Austin)
  6. Bill Erickson - bill.erickson@gmail.com
  7. Lauren Hensley - laurenhensley@gmail.com
  8. Dave Morris - dvmorris@gmail.com
  9. Dean Brundage - dean@deanandadie.net
  10. Christopher Jones - barcamp@crjones.us (i'll drive from Houston)
  11. Robert Stackhouse - robertstackhouse@gmail.com
  12. Roby Fitzhenry - roby@wearealways.com
  13. Travis Ward - travis@wearealways.com
  14. Brad Dressler - braddressler@tamu.edu
  15. David Mackey - hiyasaki@gmail.com
  16. giovanni gallucci - social media consultant dexterity media
  17. Brian Smith - wbsmith83@gmail.com
  18. Michael Cummings - michaeldcummings@gmail.com
  19. EricaOgrady
  20. Ryan Plesko - BuildingProcess
  21. Ben Bailey
  22. ConeJohnson conejohnson at gmail (I'll be late though; coming from Dallas)
  23. Barbara Smith barbaraannesmith at yahoo
  24. Eric Lorentz - Planning to drive in from DFW. - Social Networking, Podcasting, Web Dev
  25. Rachel upcomingmanager @ gmail .com
  26. MarkupNinja Team
    1. Ken Hanson - krazyken04@gmail.com
    2. Joshua Kappers - pyrogrammer@gmail.com
  27. James autofinance0 @ gmail .com
  28. Rach Moore rachel_a_moore-at-yahoo.com
  29. giovanni gallucci: social media bully
  30. Pratik patrixblogs at gmail dot com.
  31. BlakeBurris - driving from Dallas
  32. Ben Burkert - ben@benburkert.com
  33. Richard Yoo - http://www.richardyoo.com & http://www.hushlabs.com
  34. Michael Price - http://www.mlbroadcast.com MLBroadcast.Com Houston
  35. Kurt Stoll - http://www.startuphouston.com (Won't be attending due to conflict w/ another work-related conf)
  36. Robert Brackenridge - http://konstructionzone.com
  37. Lori Luza - lori@asyouwishbcs.com
  38. Andrew Rolf - only1ranger@gmail.com
  39. Russell Holliman - Podcast Ready mobilepodcast.org - russell@podcastready.com
  40. Katherine Druckman - http://www.katherinedruckman.com & http://www.linuxjournal.com
  41. Geri Druckman - http://www.gdruckman.com & http://www.techsophic.com
  42. Carlie Fairchild - http://www.linuxjournal.com
  43. Pedram Kazemi - Handango - driving from Dallas - pedram.kazemi at gmail.com
  44. Ilija Stojic - driving from Dallas - rirby_2 at Y!.com
  45. Kelsey Ruger - The Moleskin Pop Labs - kelsey@themoleskin.com
  46. Micheal Podmeli - Houston Restaurants - Web Master - admin at houstonrestaurant.us
  47. Tom Brown Open Source Currency
  48. Daniel Miller
  49. Jason Sanchez - Controller for Pop Labs - jsanchez@poplabs.com
  50. Jake McKee
  51. Monica Yoo - http://www.monicayoo.com
  52. Ed Schipul - Schipul Tendenci
  53. Melissa Howse - mhowse@poplabs.com
  54. Chris Atwood (ttu) Atwookie.com christopher.atwood@gmail.com
  55. Jeremy Fluhmann Open Source Symposium fluhmann/at/gmail.com (I'm tenative at the moment)
  56. Tyler Fields of Momo tyler(dot)fields(at)mac(dot)com
  57. Joshua Tabin - http://www.startuphouston.com
  58. James Lancaster - james@rvic.org http://www.rvic.org
  59. James Winter - dissolutionapex (at) gmail (dot) com
  60. David Matocha - Matocha & Associates, Fort Bend Democrats, Tall
  61. Jonny Dover - jonny.dover (at) gmail (dot) com; web, newspaper, and radio journalist
  62. Ethan Moore - ethan.r.moore () gmail ; non-developer, student of information policy, IP law.
  63. Jeff Carouth - jcarouth@gmail.com
  64. Chris Doelle - New Media Titan
  65. Garrett Nix
  66. Guliz Sicotte - Pop Labs gsicotte@poplabs.com
  67. Evan Rivard - Day Spas
  68. Liz Ylitalo - sideshow creative liz@onthesideshow.com
  69. Gregory Stewart - gstewart512@gmail.com
  70. Daniel Dixon - My Website
  71. John Miller - Debt Consolidation
  72. Darren Stokes - my blog - darrenstokes@concurrentaccess.com
  73. Jorge Goyco - My Web & Print Design Business Website My Webmaster & Design Tips Blog my Bryan & College Station Blog
  74. Suhas Ratanje - The University of Melbourne (Australia), engineering student
  75. Stormy Shippy - Social Storm
  76. Nikhil Nilakantan - Social Span Media LLC nikhil at socialspan dot com
  77. Charlie Lindahl - TAMHSC  barcamp at cyberchuck dot org
  78. Michael Mcginnis - webimization@biographiks.com - freelance writer
  79. Scott Riggins - Social Mobility, Inc. barcamp at riggins net
  80. Melissa Garcia - Digital Latina Pop Labs - msrandomluvsu@gmail.com
  81. Tim Costello - my blog TimCost@gmail.com
  82. Jose Rodriguez - joerdz@gmail.com
  83. Erica Douglass - erica.biz erica at erica dot biz Flying in from Silicon Valley!
  84. R.A. Ray - Creative Director at Net Perspective Web Studio
  85. Dave Bennett - driving in from Houston bennettdb@gmail.com
  86. Tom Peck - tom@appengines.com
  87. Anita DuBose - adubose@appengines.com
  88. noneck noel - luck of seven noel noneck.org
  89. Kevin Crothers - crothers . gmail . com
  90. Joshua Garrisi - new_design_site_so_check_back_often jgarrisi at gmail.com
  91. Keith Sirmons - ksirmons (at) gmail . com
  92. Fred Hendrix - Paulin Research Group
  93. Marla Trevino - opmom.com marla at opmom dot com
  94. Chris Weldon - chrisweldon.net chris at chrisweldon dot net
  95. Ben Floyd - dataplex (at) gmail
  96. Vineet Tiruvadi - virati@gmail.com
  97. John Deisher - johndeisher (at) gmail
  98. Andrew Ellis - only (dot) samurai (at) gmail (dot) com
  99. Michael Steele - manosteele@gmail.com
  100. Glenda Sims - glendathegood glsims99 at gmail.com
  101. Mike Hnatt - www.hnatt.com sales3@fairsoftware.com
  102. Nikhil Roy - spendview - nikhil at spendview.com
  103. Marc Nathan - Houston Technology Center mnathan at houstontech.org
  104. Marianne Masculino - Marianne Masculino marianne at mariannemasculino.com
  105. Silona Bonewald - LoTV silona attta silona.com
  106. Mark Schmulen - NutshellMail.com mark at nutshellmail.com
  107. David Lyman - NutshellMail.com david at nutshellmail.com
  108. Tobias Toland - soirat attttt yahoo.com
  109. Alexander Rubio - amediamgt@yahoo.com
  110. Breck Morrison - Director of Enterprise Applications, Handango bmorrison@handango.com Gig 'em Aggies, class of '94
  111. J.T. Buice - jbuice(at)gmail.com
  112. Nathan Eror - http://neror.com and http://www.natuba.com
  113. Mark Hicks - Bizmark Development mhicks . bizmark . com
  114. Shaine Mata - ShaineMata.net RGV New Media mail at shainemata . net
  115. Chip Rosenthal - http://www.unicom.com chip@unicom.com
  116. Benjamin Hunsaker - http://www.ben.unsake.net or http://www.nsidemedia.com
  117. Ben Morrow - benmorrow.info ben at chargethegrid. com
  118. Mark Barrera - internet commentary @ vizion interactive
  119. Andrew Kilzer - andrew@texags.com
  120. ChristopherStJohn - probably. well, maybe. any place to camp out at the venue?
  121. Michelle Calabretta - drmiggy.com
  122. Joshua Cook - Charis Computer Services
  123. Travis L Pinney - GeoDjango - travis.pinney@gmail.com
  124. Cliff Tyllick - scoutercliff at yahoo.com
  125. Allen Hurst - Improving Enterprises
  126. Steven Evatt - evatt.com | chron.com
  127. Lizann Slotta - lslotta (at) gmail (dot) com - CMS, Open Source, Entertainment
  128. Chris Holcombe - profzane (at) gmail (dot) com
  129. Enrique Gonzales - enriq766 (at) yahoo (dot) com - Open Source Graphics Software
  130. Craig Thompson - nocoverdev (at) gmail (dot) com
  131. Zaki Mirza - WYSIWIP
  132. Eric Fortenberry - OrgSync - eric@orgsync.com
  133. Cayce Stone - OrgSync - cayce@orgsync.com
  134. Jeff Jurica - OrgSync - jeff@orgsync.com
  135. Andrew Katz - OrgSync - andrew@orgsync.com
  136. Hilary Pike - http://blogs.msdn.com/springboard - hpike@microsoft.com
  137. Darren Bates - HomeCity - dbatesx gmail.com
  138. Charles Johnson - Verve X3, LLC - charles (at) vervex3 (dot) com
  139. Lee Allen

 

Task List

Meet to start the planning in The Creative Space.

 

Tech

 

 

TwitterCamp

Wifi

Projector, White Boards

Photo

Video

Audio

 

Non-tech

 

Breakfast

Lunch

Coffee/Tea

Tables and chairs

 

 

Tags for flickr, delicious, hashtags, ma.gnolia, technorati etc.

Please use the tag barcamptexas

 

Who's blogging?

 

 

 

Day of Event (move to top)

marla at opmom dot com erica at erica dot biz erica at erica dot biz erica at erica dot biz erica at erica dot biz